Veneto Region - Regional Council (IT)


The organs of Veneto regional government are:

- The Regional Assembly;

- The Regional Council; 

- The Regional President The Regional Assembly is the Region’s legislative body: it defines the political and administrative course of the Region's actions, and has powers of control over their implementation.

The Regional Council is the Region's executive body. It shall perform such functions as to promote and implement policies and take initiatives in compliance with the political and administrative guidelines defined by the Regional Assembly.

The Regional President presides the Regional Council and coordinates its administrative action. The Regional President is Luca Zaia. In particular, the Regional President:

- Shall represent the Region;

- Promulgate regional laws and regulations;

- Direct the administrative functions delegated by the State to the Region;

- Convene the meetings of the Regional Council, preside over it and coordinate its administrative action;

- Supervise the activities of regional offices and services;

- Submit to the Regional Assembly the budget and the general account of expenditure, together with a general report on the activities carried out by the regional administrative service;

- Perform such other functions as are attributed to him/her by the Constitution, the Statute or other laws.

About region: 

Veneto is one of the 20 regions of Italy. Its population is about 4.9 million inhabitants. Veneto is the eighth largest region in Italy, with a total area of 18,398.9 km2. It is located in the north-eastern part of Italy and is bordered to the east by Friuli Venezia Giulia, to the south by Emilia-Romagna, to the west by Lombardy and to the north by Trentino-Alto Adige/Südtirol.

At its northernmost corner it borders also on Austria. Veneto is divided into 7 provinces: Belluno, Padua, Rovigo, Treviso, Venice, Verona, Vicenza. The capital city is Venice. Veneto has one of the highest population densities amongst the Italian regions (265 inhabitants per km2 in 2008). This is particularly true in the provinces of Padua, Venice and Treviso. Belluno is the less densely populated province. Historically, Veneto was a poor agricultural region, as well as a land of mass emigration. But, since the 1970s it has seen impressive development, thanks to the so-called 'Veneto Development Model' that is characterized by strong export-oriented entrepreneurship in traditional economic sectors and close social cohesion making it actually the third richest region in terms of total GDP (€139 billion) after Lombardy and Lazio (Eurostat News Release 19/2008). The main sectors in the economy of the Veneto are: primary (agriculture, farming, fishing), secondary (industry, processing, manufacturing), constructions, tertiary (commerce, hotels and restaurants, tourism, (tele)communications and transport).

Website: www.regione.veneto.it


Angelo Mason 


Carlo Clini